

Event Report

Academic Year 2022-23 School/Department Name: School of Law Event Title: 2nd Intra Moot Court Competition 2023 Event Date: 6th to 8th April 2023 Time: 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Duration in days: Three Day Mode of conduction: Offline Faculty Convener: Asst.Prof. Nehal Ahmad, Asst.Prof. Dhanya John

Distinguished Judges: Practicing Advocates of High Court and District Court, Academicians and Experts.

Student Convener: Ms. Aastha Sharma and Mr. Anurag Kalwale

Number of team participants across India: The competition witnessed a participation of 22 teams from Sandip University's School of Law

Event Outline, Objective and Outcome of the event: The competition includes a rigorous training programme to provide valuable training, experience, and feedback to all participants. Teams then collaborate to investigate and draft a brief for a case based on current legal concerns. After submitting their brief, competitors undergo extra oral advocacy training from experienced advocates. Once the competition begins, each participant has the opportunity to argue their case before a panel of prominent members of the bench and bar. Participants must qualify via four rounds to reach the finals: preliminary rounds I and II, quarter finals, and semi-finals.

6th April 2023

Preliminary Judges: Adv. Sakshi Garge, Adv. Meghna Malad, Adv. Vidhi Gujrathi, Adv. Rajeshwari Sabadra, Adv. Aishwarya Kulkarni, Adv. Ankush Ladhe, Adv. Honey Narayani, Adv. Priya Deshmukh, Adv. Komal Chavan, Adv. Aditya Ghuge, Adv. Maitrayee Munim, Ms.

Rameshwari Dubey, Adv. Anita Dubey, Adv. Shreya Sali, Adv. Nehal Ahmad, Adv. Rakhee Poonawalla, Mrs. Anushri Upase, Ms. Anuja Nehe, Mr. Shubham Thakuriya, Ms. Apurva Mahajan, Mr. Ganesh Gadekar, Mrs. Dhanya John.

The competition started on 6th April, 2023. The day started with the orientation program for the judges where Miss Twinkle Sharma, secretary of the MCA, presented the moot proposition to the judges along with the rules and regulations of the competition, criteria of marking and basis of deciding the teams moving to next level to ensure impartiality and fairness. The memorial exchange and drawing of lots were conducted simultaneously by the MCA members under the guidance of Mrs. Dhanya John, Assistant Professor, SOL, Sandip University. The courtrooms were assigned based on the results of a drawing and further the judges were escorted and taken to each courtroom respectively. At 11:00 AM, the preliminary round commenced, and each courtroom presented impressive constitutional research and argumentative skills. Following a lunch break for the judges, the proceedings of pre-round II began. In this round, the previous petitioner and respondent switched roles, and the judges witnessed a new level of understanding of the moot issue by the participants, consequently evaluating it. The day concluded with the announcement of results of the preliminary Round I and II, where out of the 22 teams, eight qualified for the quarter final rounds.















April 7, 2023

Quarters/Semis Judges: Adv. Sandeep Phadthare, Adv. Priya Lonari, Adv. Komal Gupta, Adv. Rashmi Jape, Adv. Santosh Pandey, Dr. Bhavana Kadu, Dr. Nitya Nand Pandey, Dr. Keval Ukey.

On 7 April 2023, the second day of the II Intra Moot Court Competition, the proceedings commenced at 10:00 AM with orientation to the judges. Simultaneously the contenders participated in the memorial exchange and drawing of lots. Exactly by 11:00 AM, the quarterfinal round started, and the qualifying teams delivered their arguments before the honourable court, supporting their claims with suitable legal precedents and supporting facts. Meanwhile, the technical committee diligently prepared score sheets for each team while the judges closely observed the proceedings. Following a rigorous competition, four teams emerged victorious, and preparations for the next round. Moving forward, in the semi-finals, the bench ensured a more intense and rigorous opponent, the judges took a brief break to recharge before the next round.











8th April 2023

The final rounds of the II Intra Moot Court Competition were judged by the sitting judges: District Judge Baba Vishwanath Wagh, who, with Dr. Sandip Jha, the Chairman of Sandip University, judged and shared the quorum of the court. In the finals, team 'SIM 08' pleaded for the petitioners and team 'SIM 03' pleaded on behalf of the respondent, each speaker had ample of time to present their drafts and present their side of the arguments. At the end of the event, the winners of the poster-making competition held by the School of Law were announced, and soon after, the most-awaited results of the moot court competition were declared. The winner's team code was 'SIM 03', and the runner-up was 'SIM 08'. After the competition, the judges congratulated the teams and advised possible improvements for future endeavours.



















Thank you!